In the 13th century, Rokitnica was a place frequented by Duke Henry the Bearded and his wife Hedwig, who was canonized in 1267 and became the patron saint of Silesia. Remnants of those times include the traces of two old hillforts and the ruins of the ducal castle. Probably in 1211, it was in the castle in Rokitnica that the mentioned duke granted town rights to the settlement of Aurum, which is present-day Złotoryja.
Several nearby springs are named after St. Hedwig. They are connected by a spring trail running through Jerzmanice Zdrój, Rokitnica, Wysocko, and Rzymówka. According to tradition, during her travels, St. Hedwig drew water from a spring in Rzymówka. Above the spring, there are picturesque remains of a hillfort founded by the Trzebowian tribe in the 8th-9th centuries. An alley of oak trees leads to the hillfort, and these oaks are named after the Piasts of Silesia and the last two popes.