This post is also available in: polski
Saint John and Saint Catherine church in Świerzawa belongs to most valuable architectural monuments in the Kaczawskie region. It was built from local stones in the mid-1200s and represents Romanesque style. Until the end of the 14th century it served as a parish church but later, after a new church was built in the town centre, became a filial church and finally a cemetery one. Rebuilt after 1482 fire, it was enlarged in the early 16th century. It served Protestants in 1552–1654 and was a cemetery church again since 1713. Not used for cult purposes after World War II, it lost much of its Gothic interior, with various items moved to other churches and museums. Inside the church are the unique medieval wall paintings in the nave, chancel and apse, uncovered in the 1970s. They show, among others, the Tree of Life, dominated by the figure of Christ, accompanied by elaborate animal motifs, including storks, giraffes and fish. On the chancel wall there is a painting of Crucifixion, further scenes show the life of Saint Catherine from Alexandria and Saint Christoph. In the chapel and on church walls are twelve Renaissance stone epitaphs of von Hoberg, von Zedlitz and von Nimptsch family. Outside one can see several stone portal made of sandstone, in different architectural styles: Romanesque, Gothic and Renaissance.